Cyrus the Great – Isaiah 45

Cyrus the Great - Isaiah 45This chapter foretells of the great rescue of the Jews from Persia (now Iran) and how God used a foreigner, Cyrus, who was born in Persia to demolish the great empire of Babylonia.

1 This is what the LORD says to Cyrus, his anointed one, whose right hand he will empower. Before him, mighty kings will be paralyzed with fear. Their fortress gates will be opened, never again to shut against him. 2 This is what the LORD says: “I will go before you, Cyrus, and level the mountains. I will smash down gates of bronze and cut through bars of iron. 3 And I will give you treasures hidden in the darkness – secret riches. I will do this so you may know that I am the LORD, the God of Israel, the one who calls you by name.

Cyrus captured my attention for some reason this morning. In doing a little research on Cyrus, I came across this website that told a brief history on him. I found out that Cyrus the Great became a great ruler and brought down many injust governments. His reputation for just treatment allowed him to take over even the great Babylon, in part because the citizens of Babylon were sick and tired of being treated so poorly.

I guess the encouragement for me today is twofold: 1) God saw the plight of the Jewish people and heard their cries – just as He does for us today and 2) God used an unlikely, foreign hero to do it (and he foretold of this hundreds of years prior) – telling me that even when there seems like there’s no answer, God can use unlikely situations or people to carry out His rescue.

Thank You for how You’ve continuously rescued me and restored me, Lord. Continue to increase my faith so that I may trust You in the difficult times.

peace,
e

  1. #1 by hook4 on November 14, 2006 - 1:52 pm

    Excellent post bro – what grabbed me was your last comment – He has rescued us and restored us certainly for the present and past sins of our lives, but also for the future slip ups that He already knows we are destined for. That is amazing grace…

  2. #2 by Lauren at Faith Fuel on November 13, 2007 - 9:40 am

    “telling me that even when there seems like there’s no answer, God can use unlikely situations or people to carry out His rescue.”

    Yes. And that makes us look up, for our “redemption is nigh.”

  3. #3 by Linda on November 28, 2008 - 12:47 pm

    Thank you, it reminded me that I never know what form my rescue will take, it is important just to have faith that it will come.

  4. #4 by NC on November 12, 2011 - 6:17 pm

    thank you so much I stumbled upon Isaiah 45 today and I am so blessed by how God used Cyrus in his most unexpected way. I pray we grow in wisdom and knowledge of the things of God so we sill be worthy heIrs to his kingdom In Jesus name!

  5. #5 by glory unveiled on August 3, 2012 - 4:33 am

    a wonderful encouragement! thanks. :) I absolutely love these verses in Isaiah 45 and now they are opening up even more to me.

  1. Chasing Ashes « The Noontimes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

