Praise Him Through The Hard Times – Psalms 71

kid praising god - Praise Him Through The Hard Times - Psalms 71It’s always something. If satan can’t bring me down with temptation or betrayal, he will try something else. This month it has been illness.

Although it’s fairly uncommon for someone my age, I came down with shingles early this month. If you’re not familiar with them, they’re caused by the same virus that causes chicken pox. I had a pretty bad case of chicken pox as a child and the virus remained dormant in me until August 3. Induced by stress, sores started appearing on my chest and side and back. At first, it was just a bit annoying. However, within a week or so, the sores became extremely sensitive to pressure of any kind. Even the ceiling fan had to be turned off because the gentle wind caused my nerves to fire all the way to my toes and fingers. A strange sensation for sure.

Now, only a few weeks later, I’m practically over the drama. I had lots of folks praying and I appreciate the prayers. The sores have all but healed and the nerve pain has diminshed to nearly nothing but an occasional stab.

Through the process, my first reaction was to pray – and to praise Him. Quite possibly for the first time, this felt natural and not forced. Hmmm…perhaps I’m finally starting to learn something.

Even this personal setback pales in comparison to David’s plight. That’s why I can so relate to the writings of David.

Psalms 71 is yet another cry from David’s heart – here in his old age. Even in his advance years, David understood the need to seek God – and to praise Him even through the difficult times.

Take a look at the last half of this chapter – it’s preceeded by David’s cry of anguish for what he’s going through – people mocking him, saying God has abandoned him, whispiring against him, plotting to kill him. A far cry from an outbreak of shingles…

Yet David’s response is praise:

15 I will tell everyone about your righteousness. All day long I will proclaim your saving power, for I am overwhelmed by how much you have done for me. 16 I will praise your mighty deeds, O Sovereign LORD. I will tell everyone that you alone are just and good. 17 O God, you have taught me from my earliest childhood, and I have constantly told others about the wonderful things you do. 18 Now that I am old and gray, do not abandon me, O God. Let me proclaim your power to this new generation, your mighty miracles to all who come after me. 19 Your righteousness, O God, reaches to the highest heavens. You have done such wonderful things. Who can compare with you, O God? 20 You have allowed me to suffer much hardship, but you will restore me to life again and lift me up from the depths of the earth. 21 You will restore me to even greater honor and comfort me once again. 22 Then I will praise you with music on the harp, because you are faithful to your promises, O God. I will sing for you with a lyre, O Holy One of Israel. 23 I will shout for joy and sing your praises, for you have redeemed me. 24 I will tell about your righteous deeds all day long, for everyone who tried to hurt me has been shamed and humiliated.

So much for me to learn here. I want to respond like David did every time – with praise and confidence that God will rescue me. Just reading this passage gives me comfort and strength to make it through yet another trial.

God is good.

peace,
e

  1. #1 by angela on September 27, 2007 - 7:57 pm

    this is so right so on point and so in time. Praise God!
    thanx and bless u

  2. #2 by Samantha on February 25, 2008 - 12:30 pm

    May the Name of the Most high be gloried. I am proud of you to say the least. Remember Job he went through the same, but the Bioble says”Then Job arose, and rent his mantle, and shaved his head, and fell down upon the ground, and worshipped, and said, Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD. In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly.”—Job 1:20-22. God is good, all the time AMEN. Lets praise for He is good. Keep the faith. Good bless.

  3. #3 by Deborah on April 22, 2010 - 1:02 pm

    This post must be old but the message is ageless. Thank you for sharing your heart. I am going through some very difficult times at the moment. I am struggling to learn my lessons of praise. Praise God He doesn’t leave us alone in our weaknesses. He is soooooooo very merciful. Great is His faithfulness. God bless and keep you ever in His tender arms!

  4. #4 by cynthia on November 24, 2010 - 1:57 am

    thank you for the insight about praising God in difficult times. I am asking God how I am to praise Him even in the face of uncertainity. Thank you for the insight, I will read ps 71 slowly again and I believe that He will lift us up yet again.
    thank you.
    Praise the Lord God who is above all mankind, nothing is difficult for Him

  5. #5 by Anonymous on July 17, 2011 - 2:25 am

    Thank you for your post. I know this is an old post, however I find this to be such a testimony regarding giving praises to God through all forms of trial! Hallelujah.

  6. #6 by Dolly on July 26, 2011 - 11:48 am

    PRAISE BE TO THE ALMIGHTY GOD,THE FATHER OF OUR LORD AND SAVIOUR JESUS CHRIST, WHO IS OUR STRONGHOLD AND REFUGE IN DIFFICULT TIMES AND AN EVER-PRESENT HELP IN TROUBLE….
    LET US HUMBLE OURSELVES UNDER HIS MIGHTY HAND THAT HE MAY LIFT US UP IN DUE TIME. DEAR LORD,GIVE ALL OF US COURAGE AND STRENGTH TO OVERCOME ALL OUR TRIALS N TRIBULATIONS.
    IN JESUS’ NAME,
    AMEN!AMEN!

  7. #7 by Alfred Mathew on January 6, 2012 - 8:12 am

    You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit.
    —1 Thessalonians 1:6

  8. #8 by ndapandula on June 26, 2012 - 12:42 pm

    my you be glorified father god,, even in this difficult time, may i always praise you and have faith that one day you will deliver us from this situation. haleluya

  9. #9 by Julie on July 4, 2012 - 9:10 am

    Thank you so very much for your faith and perseverance and for posting this. It is a huge uplifter for a Christian who is going through really really long periods of hardship. Thank you Jesus for your Word.

  10. #10 by brandon on December 3, 2012 - 11:14 pm

    Thanks for the post, I have not felt well in almost 2 years and have been to the doctor a few times with no answers to what is wrong with me. I will admit that I am afraid that I could possibly be really sick. I am trying to trust in god but I have little experience in how I am supposed to ask God when I have not always been the person I could be. If anyone sees this please give me feedback on how to be more trusting to believe that I am worthy of God even listening to my prayers. Thanks

    • #11 by Anonymous on January 17, 2013 - 10:35 pm

      Don’t worry ,he will never leave you or forsake you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

