God’s Word Will Not Return Void

God’s Word Will Not Return VoidI find myself at a very challenging place in my spiritual walk.

I’ve grown up in very evangelistic churches. I’ve gone through Evangelism Explosion and spent countless afternoons and evenings on “visitation” sharing the gospel and doing the best I could to fulfill the great commission:

Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”(Matt. 28:16-20 NIV)

I’ve recently been hanging out with several people who have grown up believing the Bible is completely untrue…a fairy tale for the intellectually weak and needy. It’s fascinating, really. All my training as a “street evangelist” points back to Scripture. Every point I make regarding sin and our need for a Savior draws from passages in Romans and the gospel of John. Somehow as I’m doing the best I can to remember my training and rely upon God’s word, as soon as I reference the Bible, I can see my audience is unimpressed.

What about “God’s word will not return void – Is. 55:11″?

Well, I’m happy to report that God’s word is getting through.

Recently, one of my new friends came to me because of a difficult situation they were going through. This time, this person was much more receptive to what I was saying. I was able to share from the Bible verses specific to their issue, since I had recently gone through similar situations. This time, I felt no resistance. This time I could almost see God’s word penetrating their heart – speaking truth to a hurting soul.

If you’ve ever doubted it – don’t. God’s word will not return void and will accomplish everything God desires.

Praise God.

peace,
e

  1. #1 by tawodi on December 21, 2007 - 10:59 am

    Nice post brother, never give up, God brings to us those who need Him. We must always be ready to offeer His words, with our own, to the broken hearted and the troubled. continue to do the mission!!

    Rev. Bruce…………………………………….Tawodi

  2. #2 by Jan Broucinek on December 26, 2007 - 9:19 am

    Very cool. Be blessed.

  3. #3 by salt on January 27, 2008 - 9:45 pm

    “If you’ve ever doubted it – don’t. ”

    what a great way to start a monday morning.

    i’ve been blessed

  4. #4 by Tim on November 6, 2008 - 12:46 pm

    Thank you for this post. It is exactly what I needed to hear almost a year after you posted it.

    God’s Word does not become powerless just because the hearer doesn’t (yet) believe. It is quick (alive) and powerful regardless of the beliefs of the hearer.

    I need to plant the seed and EXPECT the harvest.

  5. #5 by Vlad on March 24, 2009 - 7:52 pm

    I was blessed by this entry. It’s is wonderful to know that God’s word is powerful and still relevant as it ever was. We was preach the truth of God and wait upon God’s Spirit to do the rest of the work, and bring the harvest to the seeds we plant. I pray that God continues to bless you and reveals Himself more to you.

    Vlad

  6. #6 by michelle on January 28, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    I stumbled upon this thread today and it filled me with a new hope! My grandmother said these same words in front of my children a few years ago. She is now 94 and we don’t get to see her that often. We will continue to share the word with her and pray this scripture – He is faithful. Thank you brother.

  7. #7 by karen on May 27, 2011 - 8:05 am

    Flip, this is awesome. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

