God Never Said He Will Not Give You More Than You Can Handle! – 2 Cor 1

I’m finally getting back into my daily reading routine! Ack, how easy it is for me to neglect the daily reading of God’s word.

Here’s what jumped out at me today:

8 We think you ought to know, dear brothers and sisters, about the trouble we went through in the province of Asia. We were crushed and overwhelmed beyond our ability to endure, and we thought we would never live through it. 9 In fact, we expected to die. But as a result, we stopped relying on ourselves and learned to rely only on God, who raises the dead.”

It actually comes up quite often that people misquote 1 Corinthians 10:13, which says:

“No temptation has overtaken you but such as is common to man; and God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape also, so that you will be able to endure it.”

This verse is all very affirming and everything, but it does not say that God will not “give you more than you can handle.” It’s talking about temptation only – that we will not be tempted beyond what we can endure.

And here’s the proof! As indicated by Paul’s writing in today’s reading, Paul and his companions WERE crushed and overwhelmed BEYOND their ability to endure. But, and here’s the good part, when they stopped trying to solve things on their own, and when they relied on God, He rescued them.

This is an important lesson to learn.

For people to think they are somehow protected by God from “too much” suffering is a dangerous, false teaching. In fact, He sometimes uses suffering to get our attention.

I have been at the place several times in my life, where I though I had been abandoned by God, left to fend for myself. But the truth is, God will never leave nor forsake us (Hebrews 13:5-6). When I felt this way, I had gotten myself into the predicament, and I was arrogantly trying to do things without God’s help. The only way He could get my attention was through suffering. Typically, I respond to suffering first by trying harder in my own power – so the suffering intensifies until I realize the only way out is by putting my focus back on God and trusting Him. When will I learn?

The more we resist and try to do it on our own, the harder it can be. Until we are able to trust Him and allow the suffering to accomplish its task, we will continue to struggle – and sometimes it will be more than we can handle, regardless of what good-intentioned people will argue with you about scripture and how God will protect you.

That’s the whole point! We simply can’t do this on our own! It’s arrogant and it’s wrong to think that way.

Silly humans…

Today, I will try to rely on God for everything.

peace,
e

, ,

  1. #1 by Michael on June 22, 2012 - 11:10 pm

    It’s true. God gives us more than we can Handle every day… but if we trust him and let him live through us and completely submit ourselves there is nothing the NEW born us cant handle. Why? because its not US. it’s Christ lovin within us. So when people say that God will never give them more than they can handle. Isn’t think they necessarily mean themselves, but God who lives within them. Because He who lives within , is capable of handling anything. Thus, anything we come across, is not more than we can handle. Because it is not us who’s handling it.

  2. #2 by melpomenez on June 24, 2012 - 5:09 pm

    Thank you for writing this. I was brawling my eyes out only half an hour ago feeling that He had abandoned me and left me in a place where no one who loves me would ever bear to leave me. And I kept wondering, over and over again, didn’t he promise that he will never give us more than we can handle? Then I felt compelled to check where I got this notion from and when I was running a search I came across this entry. Everything you wrote is true of my situation too, being arrogant and thinking that I could accomplish great things just by myself. God used suffering to get my attention and your post to remind me that I am nothing without Him.

    Once again, thank you for writing this.

    God bless,
    Mel

  3. #3 by Anonymous on July 2, 2012 - 8:33 pm

    THANKYOU ! I am so tired of people saying that all the time, it’s a nice thought but so misquoted. People back in the Bible were fed to lions and cut in two (little more than one can handle!) And that’s the point, he will be with us through whatever as we trust in Him. There is even now a song with that saying!

    • #4 by Arleen on May 28, 2013 - 3:24 pm

      Amem I agree : ) It take us to let go and Let God. It pain for me to come into the things of God and know that it was only God who can heal me.

  4. #5 by Kylie on August 20, 2012 - 9:24 am

    The greek for “temptation” can also mean testing though….

  5. #6 by Britney on December 14, 2012 - 9:19 am

    Thank you for sharing this.

    Fact is, someone quoted the “verse”, God won’t give you more than you can handle to me recently. I’ve always thought it was a verse. I hear it in church more than anywhere else.

    Well i couldn’t find it in my Bible, so i googled it….and here i am.

    I had been questioning it for awhile anyway because, like you, i too try far too often to work through suffering in my own strength. It’s when i can’t handle it that i realize….my “power” is nothing…..and i can only get through this through Christ, who gives me strength.

    So, rather than God only giving us that which we can handle, i believe he gives us that which shows us how insufficient our own strength and power is.

    This word came at the perfect time for me….and you wrote it in April. :)

    Thanks again!
    Britney

  6. #7 by Dan Dan The Art Man on February 22, 2013 - 10:03 pm

    Very insightful. Thanks for sharing. Today I feel like I’m going through more than I can handle. I need to rely more on God. Great post.

  7. #8 by Tyrone on March 25, 2013 - 9:42 am

    I think we as Christians need to understand that we are nothing, and can do nothing without God (John 15:5). So long as we understand that, then we will understand that there is nothing that can come our way that we cannot handle because it is God handling our problems and not us. Your problems will kill you if you try to handle them on your own…that is why some people commit suicide. Learn to depend on God for everything and nothing can overcome you…I can testify to that.

  8. #9 by melpomene on April 16, 2013 - 1:34 pm

    the word temptation to our english understanding is simply temptation, enticed to sin but from the original greek word peirasmos, it also mean trial and test which do include sufferings. yes in paul’s letter, he wrote indeed that he and other christians suffer way beyond they can handle, but notice when God said my grace to you is sufficient, they saw,feel,knew God personally and have the comfort, confirmation of the eventual end which is eternal life, reigning with God. you see the point is, when we’re suffering, the suffering itself is aggravated when we experience spiritual dryness when prayers seemed unanswered, doubting if Christianity is the right faith or God’s sovereign will to let us continue suffering. for example, even if i were to have terminal cancer but if God reached me personally, it would be much easier to endure the sufferings knowing ‘for sure’ I’ll have my part in Heaven, knowing that God really exist.
    but for certain, He does allow us to go through tough trials which seemed unbearable to us. problem is do we actually know how much we can bear ? do we know how talented we actually are or how ignorant we are. NO. because God knows us more than we know ourselves therefore when we thought to ourselves, omg i couldnt go through this but God knows you could.
    of course i’m still yet to affirm this, but many a times, Bible isnt that easy to deduce and there’s been so many interpretations. only God through the Holy Spirit can open us spiritual eyes and understanding.

  9. #10 by Donna Keevers Driver on May 21, 2013 - 8:35 am

    Great insight…

    Without seeking to argue in anyway, :) I’m just curious where you would think the following verses fit into all this?

    Matthew 11:28-30
    28 ‘Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.’

  10. #12 by Arleen on May 28, 2013 - 3:31 pm

    Amen Thank you for the Bible Study : ) This really helps me with my trials and tripulations going through the desert right now. Only God knows why.. : (

  11. #13 by Cyndi Nunn on July 2, 2013 - 10:20 am

    I came across this saying as well in June, 2013. My LifeWay sunday school material stated this quote as a misquote, not biblical. I researched & was shocked to find what you at GraceWalk is sharing. I also love the verses Ex. 14:14, Ps. 124:8, Is. 58:9,11,13-14. Bottom line: Trust & fear God. Let Him fight your battle for you; we need only seek & obey Him.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

