Who Can Enter God’s Presence? – Psalms 24

Wow. This short chapter is kind of heavy.

Just take a look at verses 3 – 6:

3 Who may climb the mountain of the LORD? Who may stand in his holy place? 4 Only those whose hands and hearts are pure, who do not worship idols and never tell lies. 5 They will receive the LORD’s blessing and have right standing with God their savior. 6 They alone may enter God’s presence and worship the God of Israel.”

Are my hands and heart pure? Do I worship idols and tell lies? I think that excludes many of us. That’s where God’s grace comes in. Because of what Jesus Christ did, if we repent of our sins and turn back, He is always faithful to forgive us and cleanse us from our sin.

The thing that I thought about as I read these verses is how many people I know who claim to be Christian, but do not seem to be seeking Him at all. Their appointment book reflects a passion for career, family, fun and other things, but not God.

Are you climbing the mountain of the Lord? Do you even want to stand in His holy place?

Lord, I long to see You. Help me put aside those things that break my relationship with You and put me on Your mountain!

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

