Trust in God, never be disgraced – Psalms 25

What a beautiful Psalm of David. I can really relate to this one.

2 I trust in you, my God! Do not let me be disgraced, or let my enemies rejoice in my defeat. 3 No one who trusts in you will ever be disgraced, but disgrace comes to those who try to deceive others.

What is disgraced? I like one of the definitions I found on dictionary.com:

1.the loss of respect, honor, or esteem; ignominy; shame: the disgrace of criminals.

I think of all the things I’ve done that should bring me disgrace. But because of God’s grace, my honor has been restored. It seems to me that in this chapter David is talking about the disgrace others try to bring him. He asks the Lord to not let his enemies rejoice in his defeat. I like where he says if we trust in God we will never be disgraced, but those who try to decieve others will be disgraced.

Look at all the promises found in this chapter:

  • He shows the proper path
  • He leads the humble
  • He leads with unfailing love & faithfulness
  • He forgives our many, many sins
  • He will show us the path to choose
  • We will live in prosperity
  • We can be friends with the Lord
  • He will share His secrets

David ends this Psalm with a cry to God:

15 My eyes are always looking to the LORD for help, for he alone can rescue me from the traps of my enemies. 16 Turn to me and have mercy on me, for I am alone and in deep distress. 17 My problems go from bad to worse. Oh, save me from them all! 18 Feel my pain and see my trouble. Forgive all my sins. 19 See how many enemies I have, and how viciously they hate me! 20 Protect me! Rescue my life from them! Do not let me be disgraced, for I trust in you.

Lord, I lift up my brothers who are also facing trials and traps of our enemies. Rescue them, Lord, and protect them. Do not let them be disgraced. Increase their trust in You, Lord, and send encouragement. -amen

peace,
e

  1. #1 by yourtentismadeofpaper on November 13, 2009 - 9:35 am

    Just came across this blog when the link showed up on my own. Thank you. Just what I needed to hear. Love Katie x

Leave a Reply

