Babylon’s Judgement – Isaiah 47

Babylon’s Judgement - Isaiah 47

I found an interesting verse today in Isaiah 47 that made me pause:

6 For I was angry with my chosen people and began their punishment by letting them fall into your hands. But you, Babylon, showed them no mercy. You have forced even the elderly to carry heavy burdens.

God is saying that He allowed the children of Israel to fall into Babylonian captivity because He was punishing them. However, it appears that the punishment the Babylonians put upon them was too great, which results in the destruction of Babylon.

I wonder if the Babylonian people would have been a bit more merciful, more careful in their treatment of God’s chosen people, how would things be different? Could it be that God was expecting (desiring?) for them to treat these people less harshly?

This brings up the age-old conundrum about predestination – and I cringe. I do not doubt that God knows exactly how things will turn out, but I also know that He gives us a chance to make the right decisions along the way.

Does He know that I will participate in a particular sin again today? Yes. Do I have a choice in the matter – can I choose not to? Yes. Can I change the outcome of my day? Hmmm…

This does not shake my faith, however, because the bottom line for me is this: God loves me not because of my actions or my inactions. He has called me to be an heir of the Kingdom. There is nothing I can do to earn it, so there is nothing I can do to throw it away. As long as I pursue Him and realize my dependence upon Him and follow His commands, I am His forever.

What about those who are called but choose not to follow His commands? Hmmm…

peace,
e

  1. #1 by John E. Napolitano on November 16, 2006 - 9:50 am

    Seems we’ve all, except for Mark, been out of touch with our dBrag. Yesterday, while in the middle of the whirlwind that has swept me up of late, I had a thought — most businesses have morning meetings to plan the day. The boss, supervisor, service manager, etc., delegates the assignments to his crew for the day and they go out and do their assigned work. I thought of how my day gets started. Usually, my feet hit the ground and I do not stop until I collapse into bed in the evening, often to think of how the most beneficial things I could have done for myself have been ignored or not attended to. (exercise, time with God, dBrag, time with my wife and/or children) Then I read at C-12 several verses about taking up our cross and following Jesus. (Matt 10:38, Matt 16:24, Mark 8:34, Luke 9:23, Luke 14:27) I begin reading those verses and I am blessed by the footnotes. In those it says, and I paraphrase, taking up your cross meant going to your death. If you picked up a cross, you were carrying it to the place where you would be crucified. Then I thought I wouldn’t do that. Could you imagine helping them kill you. It’s no surprise what’s coming. I wouldn’t do it. Then I thought of being a kid and being sent to get the belt, not much different in concept, just end result. I did that. Here’s the point. Taking up our cross is an act of submission. Just like getting the belt. It was an admission of who was in charge and our submission to the authority. By taking up our cross, we are submitting to the will of God this day and preparing ourselves to do what is asked of us including sacrificing all. Obedience. How’s that for a morning rant.

    So this day, I decide I will start each day at the feet of my boss, God. I will ask Him what he would like me to do today. How He would like me to serve, and where He would like me to go. I take up my cross and go on my way. I know I need my morning meeting with the Boss.

    The above ties in to today’s dBrag. Here, the Babs were the “it” — they had it all. They forgot God and relied on science and their own wisdom. That failed. Talk about how history repeats itself. Look at our world. God is an afterthought. How is it that we let the enemy deceive us? We need to stand our ground, the battle is on and all around us. We need to check in with our Boss, our Commander each day. Could you imagine being out there, in a theatre of war, and loosing contact with your commander; horrifying thought isn’t it. But here we are, the illusion that all is well is upon us, and we do not need, or can skip the meeting with the Commander today. We loose touch and what happens next? Are we a bottle floating at sea; or a soldier in God’s army?

    Dear Lord,

    I am sorry for missing so many meetings with you. I ask your forgiveness. I seek your wisdom and direction this day for myself and for my brothers. Lord, I need your peace, wisdom and direction indeed. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

  2. #2 by hook4 on November 16, 2006 - 4:18 pm

    Peace???

    You ask “What about those who are called but choose not to follow His commands?” and then you sign off with “Peace”??? (grin)

    There is no peace is that quandry of a question! But it is one heck of a question. Thanks for setting forth an objective/subjective question to occupy my mind.

  3. #3 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on November 16, 2006 - 4:48 pm

    Ya, this kind of keeps me up at night sometimes, too. I just can’t imagine knowing God, tasting/experiencing all that entails, then at some point making the decision to walk away.

    But, I think I know people who have done just that. Of course, I’m not the one to judge hearts, motives or even actions – I can’t know what’s inside them or what they’ve been through.

    Then there’s all those scriptures:
    1 Cor. 3:16-17; 6:19-20
    Heb. 12:15
    Romans 6:16-23
    Romans 11:11-32
    Gal. 1:6-7
    Gal. 5:1,4,10,20
    Romans 8:1,4,12-13
    1 Cor. 9:27
    1 Tim. 6:9-10, 21
    1 Tim. 4:1
    2 Tim. 2:17-18
    1 Tim. 5:11-15; 6:19-21
    2 Tim. 2:17,18; 4:10
    2 Tim. 2:12

    See, told you I was up late a night thinking about this a little bit. Of course, there just as many scriptures that tell us that we can never loose our salvation.

    So, for me the questions remains, but the peace does, too.

    peace?
    e

  4. #4 by Steve on November 18, 2006 - 12:55 pm

    Thanks for the Words and the thoughts you have left me with.

    Pax.

    Steve.

    https://newpsalms.wordpress.com/

  5. #5 by Anonymous on January 8, 2008 - 1:30 pm

    what bible did you read that from

  6. #6 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on January 8, 2008 - 3:41 pm

    Anonymous:
    I used the New Living Translation, but I’ve included several other translations below. They all seem to indicate the same thing – God turned them over to be punished. Hope this helps.

    Isaiah 47:6 (NIV):
    “I was angry with my people and desecrated my inheritance; I gave them into your hand, and you showed them no mercy. Even on the aged you laid a very heavy yoke.”

    Isaiah 47:6 (KJV):
    “I was wroth with my people, I have polluted mine inheritance, and given them into thine hand: thou didst shew them no mercy; upon the ancient hast thou very heavily laid thy yoke.”

    Isaiah 47:6 (NAS):
    “I was angry with My people, I profaned My heritage And gave them into your hand. You did not show mercy to them, On the aged R1927 you made your yoke very heavy.”

  7. #7 by Mariano G. on January 18, 2008 - 4:24 pm

    Wow, that is an incredible image!!!

    I had to tackle the reference to Babylon in Psalm 137 in responding to an atheist named Dan Barker.

    If you are interested, it is in the “Babylon’s Raze” section of this essay.

    Where did that image come from? And more importantly, can I use it in for the essay that I just mentioned?

    Thanks and God bless, aDios,
    Mariano

  8. #8 by micheal on April 10, 2008 - 1:58 am

    I am an Assyrian man and seeing Assyrians always blamed in ancient times i think its wrong. yes Assyrians exist today and they are all Assyrians that are christians. but this is making Assyrians look bad.

  9. #9 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on April 10, 2008 - 9:06 am

    Michael:
    I received three comments (all within about 3 minutes) with a similar message.

    I think you (and your two friends) may have completely missed my point. I’m not putting down the Assyrians – or anyone. I’m simply pointing out what a passage in the Bible means to me.

    I’m not sure how you made the leap from what’s contained in God’s word (and confirmed in actual recorded history) to making current Assyrians look bad today.

    I wonder if Germans have similar feelings when Nazis are written about. I wonder if Jewish people are offended when Pharisees are criticized. I wonder if Americans cringe when Cambodia is examined.

    As a fellow Christian, I encourage you to embrace God’s grace and wonder – making us all equal and all blessed in His sight – no matter our heritage, no matter our current condition.

    peace!
    e

  10. #10 by Dave Scriven on December 22, 2008 - 1:09 pm

    Hi e,

    Great blog. I placed the image of burning Babylon on my blog today at http://www.wordtraveler.org. Do you know who did this very nice image? I would love to give credit to the cg artist / photographer. Thanks.

    Dave Scriven
    http://www.wordtraveler.org

  11. #11 by Tim on May 24, 2009 - 11:02 pm

    Ah, it is truly scary how little we understand…
    Yet in that I am glad that we are not called to lean on our own understanding, only to trust in him!
    Does God know every detail of the future?
    When he created us did he see through the corridor of time, fashioning us before we were born?
    Did he see us restoring our relationship with him?
    Did he also see some of us reject him and thus watch them walk into eternity without him?
    The Bible tells us he knows all things… He knows the plans he has for us, which means only good things
    All too much for me to begin to understand!
    Thanks for the blog!!!! Keep it up

  12. #12 by Josua on March 10, 2011 - 3:19 am

    Read The last book of the bible-There is a lot about Babylon!

    It is hard to understand but it seems to me that it was a stronghold for the Devil.
    It also seems there was a big battle between Angels and Demons before it was burnt!
    It is not as if the devil was given the rite to attack the people of Babylon
    Thy did not listen to the lord (did not wear the Armour) so the devil could attack them, with an effect, the lord just said he cant defend them anymore, because thy would not let him! But he loved them so that he attacked the hosts of hell because thy punished the people to hard.

    Wat a lord!!!

    PS. The Peace Hand sing is a satanical sing
    The other Peace sing that would be found on clothing is a broken cross, also a satanist sing, if the sing is wore etc. Its a signal that jou are a satanist. Do not use it!

  13. #13 by gloria on April 17, 2014 - 1:29 am

    I am from babylon this kinda makes me freak

Leave a Reply

