You Rock! – Isaiah 51

One of my favorite songs to start out a worship set is “Ain’t No Rock.” Initially, I reserved it for youth gatherings as there were silly hand motions that went along with it. But, one time the Lord strongly prompted me to use it for an adult worship set. I questioned it but the urging was very strong, so I obeyed. It really broke the ice and got people engaged, opening up their hearts for the remaining tunes.

Aside from the catchy melody and silly hand motions, I love the lyrics:

AIN’T NO ROCK

(VERSE 1)
Ain’t no rock gonna shout in my place,
as long as I’m alive I’ll glorify His holy name

(CHORUS)
Praise His holy name
as long as I’m alive I’ll glorify His holy name

(VERSE 2)
Ain’t no bird gonna sing in my place
I’ll lift my voice and glorify His holy name

(VERSE 3)
Ain’t no tree gonna lift it’s branches
I’ll lift my hands and glorify His holy name

©1987 Integrity’s Praise! Music
Words and Music by LaMarquis Jefferson

The song references the passage in Luke 19 when Jesus made His triumphant entry into Jerusalem on Palm Sunday. The disciples were so excited, jumping around, making lots of noise about Jesus’ return and blessing the King. The religious leaders came to Jesus and told Him to make the disciples stop. Jesus’ reply has become a familiar encouragement to worship: “If they stop, the rocks will cry out.”

You Rock! - Isaiah 51What has all of this got to do with today’s reading in Isaiah chapter 51? Look for yourself:

1 “Listen to me, all who hope for deliverance – all who seek the LORD! Consider the quarry from which you were mined, the rock from which you were cut!

So, you see, we are actually rocks, cut from the quarrys of the Lord! Haha! So if you, my fellow rockhead, fail to worship, one of us is going to have to take up the slack!

There is such good news in this chapter. There is hope and deliverance for us all.

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

