Wake Up! – Isaiah 52

Wake Up - Isaiah 52Isn’t is amazing how God can confirm a message to you over and over, through something you hear on the radio, during Sunday worship, in coversations, etc.? Well, today I heard it again, the message, “Wake Up.”

Today as I read Isaiah 52, I see it again:

1 Wake up, wake up, O Zion! Clothe yourselves with strength. Put on your beautiful clothes, O holy city of Jerusalem, for unclean and godless people will no longer enter your gates. 2 Rise from the dust, O Jerusalem. Remove the slave bands from your neck, O captive daughter of Zion.

I’m quite confident the message is for me. In addition, it comes up in conversations with church leaders and spiritual leaders in the community. I’m getting the overwhelming feeling that God is up to something substantial, and it’s up to His church to do something about it.

Just like the children of Israel coming out of Babylonian captivity, God seems to be saying to the church today, “Get Ready!”

For what? How do I get ready? Let’s look more at Isaiah’s message in this chapter:

10 The LORD will demonstrate his holy power before the eyes of all the nations. The ends of the earth will see the salvation of our God. 11 Go now, leave your bonds and slavery. Put Babylon behind you, with everything it represents, for it is unclean to you. You are the LORD’s holy people. Purify yourselves, you who carry home the vessels of the LORD.

Leave your bonds and slavery. Consider that for a moment. What are those things you hold on to that keep you from experiencing God to the fullest? Are there sin patterns? Is there fear of the unknown? Is it laziness?

I can only tell you what it means to me. I’ve had to do absolutely everything I could do to take a step toward God. It reminds me of one of my favorite verses in James 4 (verse 8):

8 Draw close to God, and God will draw close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, you hypocrites.

I have come to understand that it’s all about God, and all I can do is worthless. However, I need to initiate my help. In other words, the moment I realize my sin or my need for God’s rescue, I’m the one who has to cry out to God. Once I take that step, then He rushes in, breaks down the wall and rescues me (to borrow a phrase from one of my favorite Chris Rice tunes).

superhero1.jpg

I Need A Hero
Chris Rice

Was I the only one to notice
That human nature doesn’t work that way
They tell me if I look deep inside me
That I can find my own way
I only find a rebel and a fool there
Who won’t admit that he’s afraid
I thought I was holdin’ on to freedom
But locked my soul up in chains

I need a hero
Who’ll dare to find me
Fly to my rescue
And crash through the wall
Announce my freedom
Bring me to my senses
Gather me into his strong arms
And carry me off. . . to safety

What is this talk about a Savior
Well does he listen, is he even there?
And should I be asking him directly?
But why should he consider my prayer?
Well, I don’t quite know how to do this
But Jesus, I can’t save myself
So here I go calling out for mercy
And crying out for your help
(So if you hear me. . .)

I need a hero
Please dare to find me
Fly to my rescue
And crash through the wall
Announce my freedom
Bring me to my senses
Gather me into your strong arms
And carry me off

Clumsy Fly Music (ASCAP)

Is God calling you to wake up? Wash your hands. Purify your heart. Cry out to God to rescue you. He will do it, you’ll see…

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

