God Is My Vindication – Isaiah 54

17 No Weapon Formed Against You Will Prevail

This is a great chapter of encouragement. God is telling His people through the prophet Isaiah that the time of punishment is over. No longer is God angry because of their rebellion and sin. God is promising to rebuild and restore them. Here are a few of my favorite verses:

2 “Enlarge your house; build an addition; spread out your home! 3 For you will soon be bursting at the seams. Your descendants will take over other nations and live in their cities.

The number of children was a sign of prosperity. The Lord is promising they will prosper from now on.

7 “For a brief moment I abandoned you, but with great compassion I will take you back. 8 In a moment of anger I turned my face away for a little while. But with everlasting love I will have compassion on you,” says the LORD, your Redeemer.

Because of their sins and turning away from God, He turned away from them. He abandoned them, but promises to never do that again. Look in the next verse:

9 “Just as I swore in the time of Noah that I would never again let a flood cover the earth and destroy its life, so now I swear that I will never again pour out my anger on you. 10 For the mountains may depart and the hills disappear, but even then I will remain loyal to you. My covenant of blessing will never be broken,” says the LORD, who has mercy on you.

But, probably my favorite verse of this chapter, a well-known passage, really gives me encouragement today:

17 But in that coming day, no weapon turned against you will succeed. And everyone who tells lies in court will be brought to justice. These benefits are enjoyed by the servants of the LORD; their vindication will come from me. I, the LORD, have spoken!

Remember, we are His people – the church, the chosen generation. This promise is for us. We don’t have to live in fear of those with weapons, or those who tell lies in court. Our vindication will be from the Lord!

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

