Is Accountability Really Necessary? – Hebrews 3

Is Accountability Really Necessary? - Hebrews 3

Today the writer of Hebrews also gives us a word about accountability and holding one another up and encouraging each other.

13 You must warn each other every day, as long as it is called “today,” so that none of you will be deceived by sin and hardened against God.

We were not created to walk out our faith on our own – that’s a lie of the devil. We need each other and we need to hold one another accountable and make sure we don’t slip off into sin and thereby harden our heart against God.

Consider who you’re really accountable to. Do they really know you and your issues? Do they know how to pray for you every day? Are they familiar with the struggles you face? Do they know how to give advice for those struggles? Are they asking you hard questions to keep you from sin?

If not, it’s important for you to begin to pray and ask God to give you such accountability. It’s all about being faithful to the end – finishing the race:

14 For if we are faithful to the end, trusting God just as firmly as when we first believed, we will share in all that belongs to Christ.

That race, of course, is to stand before God on the day of judgement and hear the words, “Well done my good and faithful servant.”

Cherish accountability – it could save your life…

peace,
e

  1. #1 by hook4 on December 8, 2006 - 10:54 am

    hey – is that a pic of you and me? Can I be the guy on the right – I love sweater vests.

    Seriously, I am thankful that I can call you friend. I need you in my life bro…

  2. #2 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on December 8, 2006 - 12:14 pm

    ya, hook, you can be the guy on the right. But that means that I’m gonna have to start growing some hair! (where’s that Rogaine I bought long ago?)

    I’m thankful for you, too, Roy. Thank you for all you’ve helped me through. You’re a blessing to many – I’m glad I get to know you and your family.

Leave a Reply

