dBrag Revisited

Reading the Bible - daily Bible reading accountability group (dBrag)Well, it has been quite a journey the past few months. God has been teaching me so much about myself, about Himself, about ministry, about my time. One of the things I keep hearing is that I need to be in the Word every day.

This blog has a tagline of “dedicated to the habit of daily Bible reading” but I’ve gotten out of the habit. I miss it. So – in spite of all the glorious excuses I can come up with, I’m jumping back in – with the help of my friends.

That’s what “dBrag” is all about. It stands for daily Bible reading accountability group. If left to my own abilities and ways, Bible reading would probably not be a high priority, as much as it pains me to admit it. I know that’s what God is calling us to do – so I’ve called on a few friends to help and we’re each going to keep each other accountable in doing just that. As important as all the other things I’m expected to do each day with work, family, church, etc., Bible reading must remain a priority to maintain my intimate relationship with God.

Sound too legalistic? Perhaps, but I have come to the point that I realize I’m not dedicated enough on my own to keep reading every day. Other things will soon crowd out my schedule. The enemy will win. With my brothers, however, we all stand a better chance at winning together.

Like Maximus said in the movie “Gladiator”: “Whatever comes out of these gates, we’ve got a better chance of survival if we work together.  Do you understand? If we stay together, we survive.”

How are we going to do this? We’ve decided to get the One Year Chronological Bible (NLT) and read through it together.

I encourage you to get in the Word every day. Maybe you are able to do this on your own. If not, ask a few close friends to start such an accountability group (a dBrag) and jump in. You don’t have to use this same resource, you can just pick a book in the Bible and read one chapter a day. That’s what we did for the first few years.

Either way, there’s really nothing more rewarding than spending time with God, reading His Word. You know you want to – you know you need to.

God will bless your efforts…

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

