Who Am I? 1 Chronicles 29

Who Am I? 1 Chronicles 29I found a beautiful prayer of David in today’s reading in chapter 29 of 1 Chronicles. To set the scene, David has just appointed his son, Solomon, as king. He has brought all his officials and leaders together. They are about to set out to build the permanent Temple, an enormous task for the Temple they are about to build is “not just another building – it is for the Lord God Himself!”

Then David praises the Lord in the presence of the whole assembly:

11 Yours, O LORD, is the greatness, the power, the glory, the victory, and the majesty. Everything in the heavens and on earth is yours, O LORD, and this is your kingdom. We adore you as the one who is over all things. 12 Riches and honor come from you alone, for you rule over everything. Power and might are in your hand, and it is at your discretion that people are made great and given strength. 13 “O our God, we thank you and praise your glorious name! 14 But who am I, and who are my people, that we could give anything to you? Everything we have has come from you, and we give you only what you have already given us! 15 We are here for only a moment, visitors and strangers in the land as our ancestors were before us. Our days on earth are like a shadow, gone so soon without a trace. 

David’s prayer reminds me of one of my all-time favorite songs:

“Who Am I” song lyrics by Casting Crowns

Who am I?
That the Lord of all the earth,
Would care to know my name,
Would care to feel my hurt.
Who am I?
That the bright and morning star,
Would choose to light the way,
For my ever wandering heart.

Chorus:
Not because of who I am,
But because of what you’ve done.
Not because of what I’ve done,
But because of who you are.

I am a flower quickly fading,
Here today and gone tomorrow,
A wave tossed in the ocean,(ocean)
A vapor in the wind.
Still you hear me when I’m calling,
Lord, you catch me when I’m falling,
And you’ve told me who I am.
I am yours.
I am yours.

Who am I?
That the eyes that see my sin
Would look on me with love
And watch me rise again.

Who am I?
That the voice that calmed the sea,
Would call out through the rain,
And calm the storm in me.

I am yours.
I am yours.

Whom shall I fear?
Whom shall I fear?
‘Cause I am yours.
I am yours.

David goes on in his prayer:

17 I know, my God, that you examine our hearts and rejoice when you find integrity there. You know I have done all this with good motives, and I have watched your people offer their gifts willingly and joyously. 

That is my prayer today, Lord. You know my heart.  Forgive my arrogance in thinking that I’m anything without You. All I have is because of You. I trust You for what I need. I am Yours, Lord.

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

