Paul Potts Surprises Even Simon Cowell

This blog is about Bible reading. However, I’m occasionally moved by a current events story that I must share with my readers. Now, I could go into the Biblical ramifications of how the Bible tells us that when Christ comes into our lives, what was once unknown and less than useful becomes alive and useful in the hands of the Master. But I won’t…

Check out the story of Paul Potts. He was recently the winner of “Britain’s Got Talent”, the UK version of the show American Idol. He really surprised everyone and I think you’ll be touched.

Now – what God does with Him will be interesting.

Enjoy!

peace,
e

  1. #1 by wadewhack on June 29, 2007 - 10:11 am

    wow. just wow. I don’t know why but i brought a tear to my eye.

  2. #2 by tina gasperson on July 1, 2007 - 11:03 pm

    Hey Eric,

    I loved this one too!

    Tina

  3. #3 by The Cranky Curmudgeon on August 5, 2007 - 2:30 am

    Well . . . not sure you will prize a response from an atheist, former Jew, sometime dabbler in Buddhism, and one who prefers to refer to himself as a quantum gestalt humanist – and who, btw, thinks organized religion is a quaint and – on balance – terribly destructive force . . . but you seem to know who I am (and I like that in a piece of software) so here goes.

    I have always been a great proponent of the underdog. I’m a sucker for stories of the wretched and down-trodden, the salt of the earth, achieving their dreams and this is a prime example. I have listened and watched this performance close to a dozen times and each time the hair on my body stands up and I find myself close to sobbing.

    Whatever happens now or, as you say, “What God does with him”, will indeed be interesting. I, for one, hope it does not change him too dramatically. That it will change him, I have no doubt. I just hope he remembers what it took for him to achieve this dream, and how rare it is. I hope he retains his humility, as the Jesus I do believe in (the historic one) appears to have done all his sweet, short life.

  4. #4 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on August 6, 2007 - 12:06 am

    Dear Cranky:
    I prize responses from anyone who wants to be real about what they’re thinking. I thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.

    As for Paul, I completely agree with you. I’ve seen fame and riches change many people – most for the worst. As you know it says in God’s word that “the love of money is the root of all evil” (1 Tim 6:10). But we can wish Mr. Potts well and certainly we can appreciate his rags to riches story and his amazing talent.

    As for you, Cranky, I surmise that you’re not the atheist you claim as evidenced by your last sentence. It sounds like you and I may have much in common – not only a soft spot for the underdog, but a disdain for most organized religion.

    My community will continue to pray that you find what you’re looking for, and that Jesus makes Himself known to you very fully and very soon.

    peace,
    e

Leave a Reply

