I Can’t Get No… – 1 Corinthians 9

Mick Jagger - I Can’t Get No Satisfaction - 1 Corinthians 9Kind of reminds you of a song, no?The thing that stuck out for me today as I read 1 Corinthians 9 is verse 16:

16 For preaching the Good News is not something I can boast about. I am compelled by God to do it. How terrible for me if I didn’t do it!

What is it that God has you doing? Do you even think in those terms?

Sure, we need to take care of our families. Sure, we need to pay our bills. We also need to pray, read the Word, be accountable, encourage and love one another. Those things we’ve learned from reading His Word.

What things are distractions? We need our rest and recreation. What things do we do that are simply not beneficial?

Can you say, “<THIS> is what God would have me doing.” Furthermore, can you say, “<THIS> is what God has me doing.” In other words, are you doing it?

Paul knows with great confidence – so much that what he’s doing is of God that he refuses to ask for payment for it. Satisfaction is his payment. He has no choice.

Wow – That must be a good feeling! Satisfaction guaranteed!

Something to think about today as you scurry about trying to make the best of your time. What would God have you doing…

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

