Wrap up on 1 Corinthians – Chapter 16

At first I read through this and there was nothing. Then, I took a look from a higher level (consulted my trusty footnotes) and I discovered that the rest of this book was penned by Paul’s scribe. Chapter 16, however, is written by Paul himself – a sort of P.S. if you will.

In this chapter, he’s accomplishing quite a few things to help the church body – both in Jerusalem and in Corinth.

2 On every Lord’s Day, each of you should put aside some amount of money in relation to what you have earned and save it for this offering. Don’t wait until I get there and then try to collect it all at once.

13 Be on guard. Stand true to what you believe. Be courageous. Be strong. 14 And everything you do must be done with love.

The whole book is an encouragement to that church as to how to deal with their problems. Who’s doing this today? Who’s warning Christians today about the problems? Hopefully, your pastor. I know of a few evangelists who have delivered warnings to particular churches – as God gave them the insight. However, for the most part, I don’t see this today. That’s one reason I’m so thankful for my church, BridgePoint. Pastor Tim Whipple hears from God concerning what our people need to hear and is not afraid to deliver the message full on.

Fortunately, we also have God’s Word – specifically these Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians and Colossians books and the letters to the church at Corinth. We can look to these books for encouragement and correction for our local churches today. If you’re not in a body (or home church, for that matter) that’s able to hear from God and “bring it to the people” – um… what’s the point?

Let’s review what Paul was saying to the church at Corinth in the book of 1 Corinthians (footnotes):

He dealt with divisions and conflicts, selfishness, inconsiderate use of freedom, disorder in worship, misuse of spiritual gifts, and wrong attitudes about the resurrection.

This has been a convicting and encouraging book for me.

I’d like to thank my ‘dBrag’ers at this point for your encouragement in keeping in the word. Even the second time through this awesome book, I can’t express how God is changing me through the daily reading and study of His Word. I couldn’t do it without you. Thank you for your faithfulness.

If you want to know more about dBrag, please visit www.dbrag.org.

peace!
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

