New Bodies/New Life in Christ – 2 Corinthians 5

1 For we know that when this earthly tent we live in is taken down when we die and leave these bodies we will have a home in heaven, an eternal body made for us by God himself and not by human hands. 2 We grow weary in our present bodies, and we long for the day when we will put on our heavenly bodies like new clothing. 3 For we will not be spirits without bodies, but we will put on new heavenly bodies.

Well now, this IS good news! For all of us aging, balding, plumping, ailing oldskins – our new “tent” will be glorious – eternal bodies made by God himself: There IS Hope! And – we will not be spirits when we die, but we will have bodies. That was a question I always heard debated.

Verse 16 also caught my attention:

16 So we have stopped evaluating others by what the world thinks about them. Once I mistakenly thought of Christ that way, as though he were merely a human being. How differently I think about him now!

Once a person becomes a Christian they are brand new. My footnotes have an interesting perspective: “We are not reformed, rehabilitated, or reeducated – we are re-created (new creations), living in vital union with Christ (Col 2: 6,7). At conversion we do not merely turn over a new leaf; we begin a new life under a new Master.”

Do you find yourself judging others by how they look (or is it just me)?

We need to realize that our Christian brothers & sisters, while not perfect, have been given new life. When our brothers fall, we need to see them as God does. We need to be concerned and not jump to gossip and condemnation – but seek restoration and healing through love…that’s what it means to me to “stop evaluating others from a human point of view.”

We aren’t perfect, so we need to encourage each other to fight the fight – and help each other get back up after a fall. Somehow it’s easier now for me to see the good in people in the midst of struggle and encourage them – rather than quickly giving up on people as was the case for me not long ago. Perhaps it’s also because of the trials God has seen me through in my own life.

Thank You, God for the trials You’ve brought me through. Thank You for my brothers and for the fellowship of godly men you have given me. I lift them up to You today. Empower them to stand and fight today – to be the men and husbands and fathers You have planned for them to be. Bring discernment in prayer for us all so we can lift each other up as needed.

peace!
e

  1. #1 by CovenantBride on August 10, 2007 - 7:58 am

    great post…we can walk in the newness of life even now…be bless… -g-

  2. #2 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on August 10, 2007 - 10:11 am

    Thanks for stopping by, g!

  3. #3 by cheryl on August 22, 2007 - 4:30 pm

    I Need PRAYER..
    Please help me I need prayer support. I am in severe depression due to a soul tie I allowed in my life. I divorced my husband 7years ago due to abuse issues for our 24yr marriage. To make life worse I fell deep in love, and sin with another man. “He swept me off my feet” However after a couple years I seen red flags and realized it wasn’t where the Lord wanted me, and I felt burdened to return to my husband. I did remarry my husband in april’06. I still have love, and desires for this man and its destroying me I have prayed, and asked others to pray. I have to truly let go of this man, and be stronger than ever before in God’s will, and learn to love, and respect my husband. I also started smoking cigarettes, and drinking while with this man.. I need to let go of all this sin I can’t live like this anymore. I need prayer, and deliverance.. God Bless, Cheryl, Thankyou. I need to get healthy spiritually, physically, mentally, and help others for the Lord. I NEED peace..If I can help ONE woman avoid this trap it will be worth all the pain..

Leave a Reply

