Are You Having A Bad Day? – Psalms 69

Shark Attacks Helicopter - Are You Having a Bad Day? - Psalms 69Are you having a bad day? Are you having a bad year?

We all go through difficult times. Life is tough. When I’m going through trials, I like to turn to Psalms and read David’s cries to God. Sometimes it helps to stop my personal “pity party” and look around at how good I actually have it. When I consider the plight of David, I realize I was never asked to be king, never hunted down by a warrior, never asked to fight a giant Philistine, never made to live in exile in the wilderness. My life, as hectic as it seems sometimes, pales in comparrison.

Today, my reading brought me to Psalms 69. The first thing I notice made me laugh. Look at verse 1:

1 For the choir director: A psalm of David, to be sung to the tune “Lilies.” Save me, O God, for the floodwaters are up to my neck.

Oh – okay, let me get my hymnal out and look up the song, “Lilies”. Too bad we don’t have the musical score from David’s day. I’m curious how these verses fit into a song. Certainly not the structure of modern music.

Next, look at the anguish in David’s soul. He cries out to God in time of need:

2 Deeper and deeper I sink into the mire; I can’t find a foothold to stand on. I am in deep water, and the floods overwhelm me. 3 I am exhausted from crying for help; my throat is parched and dry. My eyes are swollen with weeping, waiting for my God to help me. 4 Those who hate me without cause are more numerous than the hairs on my head. These enemies who seek to destroy me are doing so without cause. They attack me with lies, demanding that I give back what I didn’t steal.

5 O God, you know how foolish I am; my sins cannot be hidden from you. 6 Don’t let those who trust in you stumble because of me, O Sovereign LORD Almighty. Don’t let me cause them to be humiliated, O God of Israel.  

7 For I am mocked and shamed for your sake; humiliation is written all over my face. 8 Even my own brothers pretend they don’t know me; they treat me like a stranger. 9 Passion for your house burns within me, so those who insult you are also insulting me. 10 When I weep and fast before the LORD, they scoff at me. 11 When I dress in sackcloth to show sorrow, they make fun of me. 12 I am the favorite topic of town gossip, and all the drunkards sing about me.

13 But I keep right on praying to you, LORD, hoping this is the time you will show me favor. In your unfailing love, O God, answer my prayer with your sure salvation. 14 Pull me out of the mud; don’t let me sink any deeper! Rescue me from those who hate me, and pull me from these deep waters. 15 Don’t let the floods overwhelm me, or the deep waters swallow me, or the pit of death devour me. 16 Answer my prayers, O LORD, for your unfailing love is wonderful. Turn and take care of me, for your mercy is so plentiful. 17 Don’t hide from your servant; answer me quickly, for I am in deep trouble! 18 Come and rescue me; free me from all my enemies.

19 You know the insults I endure the humiliation and disgrace. You have seen all my enemies and know what they have said. 20 Their insults have broken my heart, and I am in despair. If only one person would show some pity; if only one would turn and comfort me. 21 But instead, they give me poison for food; they offer me sour wine to satisfy my thirst.

22 Let the bountiful table set before them become a snare, and let their security become a trap. 23 Let their eyes go blind so they cannot see, and let their bodies grow weaker and weaker. 24 Pour out your fury on them; consume them with your burning anger. 25 May their homes become desolate and their tents be deserted. 26 To those you have punished, they add insult to injury; they scoff at the pain of those you have hurt. 27 Pile their sins up high, and don’t let them go free. 28 Erase their names from the Book of Life; don’t let them be counted among the righteous. 29 I am suffering and in pain. Rescue me, O God, by your saving power.

In the typical David fashion, he always turns it around to praise for God. This is the encouragement for today for me: it’s okay to cry out to God and tell Him everything you’re feeling (He already knows anyway, right?). But, it’s important to bring it all back to praise – acknowledge Him for His favor and goodness. He cares for us more than we know – and trials themselves bring us strength and teach us and grow us.

30 Then I will praise God’s name with singing, and I will honor him with thanksgiving. 31 For this will please the LORD more than sacrificing an ox or presenting a bull with its horns and hooves. 32 The humble will see their God at work and be glad. Let all who seek God’s help live in joy. 33 For the LORD hears the cries of his needy ones; he does not despise his people who are oppressed. 34 Praise him, O heaven and earth, the seas and all that move in them. 35 For God will save Jerusalem and rebuild the towns of Judah. His people will live there and take possession of the land. 36 The descendants of those who obey him will inherit the land, and those who love him will live there in safety.

Are you having a bad day? Are you having a bad year?

Tell Him! Then praise Him.

peace,
e

  1. #1 by sigg1233 on August 23, 2007 - 9:50 am

    Aman thank you.God’s love alway’s come’s thru this year God has showen me. rather teaching me how to be joyful even in time’s of trouble.Thank God ad you again. lynda

  2. #2 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on August 23, 2007 - 11:16 am

    Lynda:
    Thanks so much for stopping by and for your comment. I totally agree that God is so loving and faithful. I like to say it this way: He loves us too much to simply leave us where we’re at. We’ve all got some growing to do.

    To say it poetically, the delicate flower needs the rain in order to grow. Rain storms are scary and uncomfortable, but without the storms, there is no growth.

    Ha! That’s a bit cheesy, but it gets the point across.

    Thanks again for your comment. God bless you in your journey to Him!

    peace,
    e

  3. #3 by Anonymous on May 15, 2008 - 3:13 pm

    I was having a really bad day. Thanks!

  4. #4 by Anonymous on May 15, 2008 - 3:14 pm

    You have no idea how much this helped me. I love the Lord. I was on the verge of breaking down at school, but with the verse, I can now think about how good God is and how he is in control. Thank you. SO MUCH.

  5. #5 by Anonymous on May 15, 2008 - 3:15 pm

    ACtually, do you have any other good PSalm verses? my personal email is: clackamasleader@gmail.com THANK YOU. you have no idea. God talked me through this website.

  6. #6 by Johnny on July 15, 2008 - 5:52 pm

    I always come to this website… whenever I’m having a bad day and am on the verge of tears… thanks for posting this and please, please never take this down. God bless you for putting this on here and let’s hold on tight to that crown until Jesus comes from heaven.

  7. #7 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on July 16, 2008 - 7:52 am

    Praise God! Thanks for the comment, Johnny. I prayed for you that God would hold you up in your difficult situations, and that you’d find what you need in Him. Your encouragement was just what I needed as well. Sometimes I wonder if what I’m doing is for the right reasons, or if anyone is even reading what I post. God bless!

  8. #8 by Anonymous on November 17, 2008 - 9:26 pm

    Thank you

  9. #9 by Emerson Smith on December 4, 2008 - 6:29 pm

    This is real but I have found better results in praying for my enemies vs. condemning them such as verse 22-29.

    22 Let the bountiful table set before them become a snare, and let their security become a trap. 23 Let their eyes go blind so they cannot see, and let their bodies grow weaker and weaker. 24 Pour out your fury on them; consume them with your burning anger. 25 May their homes become desolate and their tents be deserted. 26 To those you have punished, they add insult to injury; they scoff at the pain of those you have hurt. 27 Pile their sins up high, and don’t let them go free. 28 Erase their names from the Book of Life; don’t let them be counted among the righteous. 29 I am suffering and in pain. Rescue me, O God, by your saving power.

    God wants us to bless our enemies, not condemn them.

    But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you (Luke 6:27-28).

  10. #10 by joyce on April 19, 2009 - 9:40 pm

    By the grace of my Almighty GOD who has never failed me nor forsaken me in whatever circumstances I may be in, He opened this page for me. With this blessed assurance thus will I move on. Amen.

  11. #11 by Katy Jane on November 9, 2011 - 2:18 pm

    Thank you for posting these verses, they really helped me with some things I’ve been going through.

    I hope you don’t mind if I ask you to please pray for me. My long term boyfriend and I are trying to put the pieces of our relationship back together after an argument that led to a separation. We feel God’s love upon us and feel he is telling us to be together, but cannot seem to find time in our busy lives for each other. I pray that we may find room in our lives for each other and for God, and that He be the center of our relationship. Amen.

    Thank you so much.

  12. #12 by Mir on April 28, 2013 - 2:21 pm

    Thank you for posting this. I was having a bad day and feel so blessed and lifted in The Lord after reading your blog. I was not in a good mainframe but made a conscious effort to find some inspirational to read that would lift me up. This did just that. I was also praying and asking God for his blessing and help and it happened. Thank you again. God bless!!

Leave a Reply

