Pray For Your Children! – Psalms 72

pray for your children - psalms 72The New Living Translation starts out this chapter with “A psalm of Solomon.” So I started reading it thinking it was Solomon who wrote it. But something was wrong – it wasn’t making sense. So, I turned to my trusty “Matthew Henry’s Commentary” and cleared up the confusion.

You see, David wrote this “for” Solomon in his dying days. It’s a prayer or song of blessing for the newly anointed successor to King David. I started reading it over and was blown away by the petition from David for his son.

1 A psalm of Solomon. Give justice to the king, O God, and righteousness to the king’s son. 2 Help him judge your people in the right way; let the poor always be treated fairly. 3 May the mountains yield prosperity for all, and may the hills be fruitful, because the king does what is right. 4 Help him to defend the poor, to rescue the children of the needy, and to crush their oppressors. 5 May he live as long as the sun shines, as long as the moon continues in the skies. Yes, forever! 6 May his reign be as refreshing as the springtime rains like the showers that water the earth. 7 May all the godly flourish during his reign. May there be abundant prosperity until the end of time. 8 May he reign from sea to sea, and from the Euphrates River to the ends of the earth. 9 Desert nomads will bow before him; his enemies will fall before him in the dust. 10 The western kings of Tarshish and the islands will bring him tribute. The eastern kings of Sheba and Seba will bring him gifts. 11 All kings will bow before him, and all nations will serve him. 12 He will rescue the poor when they cry to him; he will help the oppressed, who have no one to defend them. 13 He feels pity for the weak and the needy, and he will rescue them. 14 He will save them from oppression and from violence, for their lives are precious to him. 15 Long live the king! May the gold of Sheba be given to him. May the people always pray for him and bless him all day long. 16 May there be abundant crops throughout the land, flourishing even on the mountaintops. May the fruit trees flourish as they do in Lebanon, sprouting up like grass in a field. 17 May the king’s name endure forever; may it continue as long as the sun shines. May all nations be blessed through him and bring him praise.

Upon reading this chapter – I was convicted to pray for my daughters. I pray for my daughters now – every day. But, the passion and thoughtfulness of this dying man’s prayer has reminded me of the importance of prayer covering for my children. It’s probably the most important thing I can do for my girls on a daily basis.

I’m grateful for the reminder. I, like dying King David, want my children to use their position in this world as princesses of the Most High God to bless godly people God puts in their lives. I want all they are in charge of in their lives to prosper because of their relationship with Father God. I want people to look up to them for their example of how a godly woman flourishes in a dying world.

Bless my girls, Lord. Help me to pray fervently and passionately for them each day, just as David did for his son.

peace,
e

  1. #1 by Jan on August 30, 2007 - 1:26 pm

    Way too Cül! I did not realize the authorship and the recipient of this Psalm.

    Recently I’ve been challenged to pray for my boy’s future wives and for their wives families. This reading just reaffirms the importance of that.

    Blessings to you, Jan

  2. #2 by Jaqua (Jāy 'Quāy) on August 31, 2007 - 9:35 am

    Jan:
    I know you have more than one boy – so for the sake of my other readers, I want to point out that you’re not advocating Mormonism or Polygomy by praying for your “boy’s future wives”. Instead I think you may have meant to say “pray for my boys’ future wives”, no?

    Sorry – it’s the copy editor in me…can’t help it!

    peace,
    e

  3. #3 by Jan on August 31, 2007 - 3:19 pm

    Thanks. You are correct – as usual. : )

    Blessings to you, Jan

Leave a Reply

