My Kind of King – Luke 2

Forgiven - A King for the Ordinary - Luke 2Oh, how I wish I could have been alive when all this was happening! Can you imagine being on earth during the birth of Jesus?

I love Luke’s account of Jesus’ birth. This time I had a wider perspective as I read about others in the story that were fortunate enough to have seen or heard about baby Jesus or young Jesus.

I see Simeon, who had been promised that he would not die before he had seen the Lord’s Messiah.

I see Anna, the aged prophetess who lived in the Temple day and night.

I see the religious teachers in the Temple sitting with Jesus, amazed by His depth of knowledge and understanding – filled with wisdom beyond His years.

These people seemed to understand.

Then I see how frantic Jesus’ mother & father were when they finally found Jesus after 3 days in the Temple. Verse 50 puzzled me: “But they didn’t understand what He meant.”

All these other people, Simeon, Anna, the teachers, understood who He was. It seems like His own parents did not yet understand.

Having grown up in the church all my life – I could say the same thing for most of my life. I was around Him, lived in a Christian home, always served at a church most every time the doors were open. Yet, I can say that only recently have I begun to understand what Jesus is really all about. And, all credit to Him, who has allowed things to happen in my life to direct my focus His way instead of my own.

One other thing I notice about this chapter – it’s the “plain” people who got to experience Jesus. I know that the entire nation of Israel had been expecting the Messiah to come for centuries. But, they were waiting for a triumphal, kingly entrance – with all the fanfare and ceremony that would go along with a heavenly King coming to earth. Some still await His return.

Not that I had anything to do with it, but I’m happy to be plain ol’ eric, whom He called to be His. I am happy to know who He is, and I’m grateful to be able to experience all He has to offer. That’s my kind of King!

peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

