Profession of Uprightness – Psalm 101

Flaming Sword - Profession of Uprightness - Psalm 101I’ve had it in my mind for a few days now to jump back into daily Bible reading. I mean – this is the blog that’s “dedicated to the habit of daily Bible reading”, right? Now that my schedule has returned to one that is maintainable and no longer unhealthy, I really don’t have an excuse. But – it feels like I’ve gotten out of the habit. Not good.

Still, my friends are still going strong with their dBrag group. Reading their posts each day has encouraged me to jump back in. For more information about what a dBrag group is, check out www.dBrag.org.

Today, I felt led to join my friends as they continue in the book of Psalms, and I felt led to start at 101. I’m glad I did. I’ve been looking for these verses for a while now, wanting to memorize them since they’re such a powerful profession of uprightness. I would encourage you to join me in committing these eight little powerhouse verses to memory:

The Psalmist’s Profession of Uprightness.
1 I will sing of lovingkindness and justice, To You, O LORD, I will sing praises. 2 I will give heed to the blameless way. When will You come to me? I will walk within my house in the integrity of my heart. 3 I will set no worthless thing before my eyes; I hate the work of those who fall away; It shall not fasten its grip on me. 4 A perverse heart shall depart from me; I will know no evil. 5 Whoever secretly slanders his neighbor, him I will destroy ; No one who has a haughty look and an arrogant heart will I endure. 6 My eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me; He who walks in a blameless way is the one who will minister to me. 7 He who practices deceit shall not dwell within my house ; He who speaks falsehood shall not maintain his position before me. 8 Every morning I will destroy all the wicked of the land, So as to cut off from the city of the LORD all those who do iniquity.

Print them out. Put them on your fridge, your mirror, your day-timer. Hide them in your heart so the next time you’re faced with temptation to look at something worthless or hang out with those who have fallen away, you may remember God’s words…

Now…if I can somehow get back in the habit…

grace & peace,
e

  1. #1 by Jan on March 19, 2008 - 10:41 am

    In the infamous words of Nike, Just Do It.

Leave a Reply

