Cry Out To God – Psalms 102

Folded Hands Praying - Cry Out To God - Psalms 102Like most, I’ve been in situations where all I could do was cry out to God for help. So, my attention was drawn to the following verses in today’s reading from Psalms chapter 102:

17 He will respond to the prayer of the destitute; he will not despise their plea. 18 Let this be written for a future generation, that a people not yet created may praise the Lord: 19 “The LORD looked down from his sanctuary on high, from heaven he viewed the earth, 20 to hear the groans of the prisoners and release those condemned to death.”

What I found interesting as I read this is how the writer of this Psalm, despirate to hear from God, is concerned not only for his own current situation, but for the situations of future generations – “those not yet created.”

As a parent, I have concerns for what my daughters will have to look forward to in their lives. I’ll be honest, at times I fear for their futures. All the war, the nasty politics, the degradation of society, the crime, the trash on the Internet and TV, social security, terrorism…it’s overwhelming to think about. I want them to have quiet, safe, peaceful lives, but I’m not sure anyone can guarantee that for them.

Yet God looks down from heaven and hears the groans of the prisoners, and releases those condemned to death.

Without God – it’s hopeless. But, for those “condemned” to living on this dying planet – there is hope. God hears. He answers.

Cry out to Him – you’ll find He will answer.

grace & peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

