Good “Spread” – Spread the Word! Psalms 105

BBQ chicken picnic - Good “Spread” - Spread the Word! Psalms 105My girls and I were invited to a cookout at the home of a friend of mine this weekend. It wasn’t anyone’s birthday. We weren’t celebrating any particular event. Nobody was moving away. We just wanted to spend time together, the worship team and their families and mine.

It was perfect. The weather was just right, complete with a gentle, Florida sea-breeze. The ‘Rican “spread” was just right – juicy chicken on the grill, dirty rice and lots of other great food (these people know how to cook great food!). The conversation was fun, full of laughs and memories, but always with the attitude of gratitude. We’ve all been through a lot this past year, and we had grown quite close. There was an unspoken hint of sadness now that we’re not working together, but a healthy balance of “God is in control.”

As I read today’s chapter, I was reminded of the last conversation between my gracious host, his wife and I. All things turned back to God and all that He has done for us. We recounted many of the good things God had done in the past year, then even further back in the lives of our families and friends. My daughters were there to listen, too, which made it even that much more meaningful to me.

As I read the first verse of Psalms 105, I smiled and thanked God for the weekend’s experience:

1 Give thanks to the Lord, call on his name; make known among the nations what he has done.

The rest of this chapter goes on to recount the faithfulness of God to the children of Israel. It tells of the glorious ways God kept His promises to the children of Israel and their deliverance from bondage in Egypt. It details how God intervened on their behalf and rescued them time and time again, with very specific detail how it was done.

As I read it the second time, it dawned on me how important it is that we carry on this tradition and tell our children and their children what God has done – not only for the children of Israel, but for us as well!

I am thankful for the family that invited us all over this weekend. Each time I am with them, I see them praising God for all things. I see them consciously (and unconsciously) praising God through telling of stories of how God has rescued them and blessed them and challenged them. I see their children listening.

That’s spreading the gospel if anything is.

What has God done for you? What has He rescued you from?

Tell someone today!

Thank You, God, for all you continue to bless me and my girls with – especially my good friends!

grace & peace,
e

  1. #1 by hook4 on March 31, 2008 - 11:27 pm

    thank you God for showing your love to my friend and his girls thru a simple meal. you are too cool!

Leave a Reply

