Food for those who fear Him – Psalms 111

Juice Fast - Fruit - Food for those who fear Him - Psalms 111Psalms 111 is also very short, full of praise about the character of God. Since it’s so short, again I will post all of it:

1 Praise the Lord. I will extol the LORD with all my heart in the council of the upright and in the assembly.
2 Great are the works of the Lord; they are pondered by all who delight in them.
3 Glorious and majestic are his deeds, and his righteousness endures forever.
4 He has caused his wonders to be remembered; the LORD is gracious and compassionate.
5 He provides food for those who fear him; he remembers his covenant forever.
6 He has shown his people the power of his works, giving them the lands of other nations.
7 The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy.
8 They are steadfast for ever and ever, done in faithfulness and uprightness.
9 He provided redemption for his people; he ordained his covenant forever– holy and awesome is his name.
10 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow his precepts have good understanding. To him belongs eternal praise.

Interestingly, right smack in the middle of this chapter is a verse for me – for today. Verse 5 talks about food. Now, I’ve prayed about this and I feel complete liberty to publish the fact that I’m on a juice fast. Normally, fasting is a deeply spiritual event for me. This time, although I am really trying to use the time to pray more and focus on God instead of my body’s wants, I am a bit more focused on the health benefits and a little bit of weight loss.

I do not normally tell people when I fast, it’s just between me and God. This time, I actually felt led to write about it because of the health benefits I’ve been researching lately. And, since my Wildmen friends are always reading my blog, there’s a certain bit of accountability I can count on if I post something like this!

As I said I’m on a juice fast, rather than my usualy water-only fast. I started Friday evening so I’m already two and a half days in. Unlike a water-only fast, the hunger I normally experience is non-existant. I’m doing great. Over the next few days, along with my daily Bible reading (I also want to be more disciplined with this), I will post a short update about the juice fast. I want to share about the health benefits, my experiences, and my progress (3 lbs. so far!).

For now, I will say only that it was good to read today about how God will “provide food for those who fear Him.”

Thank You, God, for your provision in my life. You have given me SO much and I want to be more grateful. I know You do so much more than I even know, and I want You to know that I appreciate and love You. Forgive me when I overdo – eating, busyness, vocal diarrhea, and so many more things. Help me to be able to control my body as You call us to do every day. My what I’m doing somehow encourage others to take better care of their bodies and minds. You are worthy of so much more…

grace & peace,
e

  1. #1 by Jan on April 8, 2008 - 8:48 am

    I’m proud of you Eric, draw closer to God, and he will draw closer to you.

Leave a Reply

