Simplehearted. – Psalms 116

Heart of a child - Simplehearted. - Psalms 116Once again, as I read a chapter in the book of Psalms, I wonder what the writer was going through at the time. I wonder how it sounded to music.

Today, I read Psalms 116. As far as recent Psalms I’ve read go, it’s very similar, full of praise for a faithful Father and thanks for His provision and protection.

However, there was one word that sort of stuck out as I read it. It’s a word you don’t often hear today, and it made me curious. See if you can spot it:

6 The LORD protects the simplehearted; when I was in great need, he saved me.

Simplehearted.

What does that word make you think of? What does that mean?

I looked it up online and here’s one of the definitions I found that I really like: “free of deceit; artless; sincere.”

This led me to another word I had to look up: artless. Here’s the definition I found: “free from deceit, cunning, or craftiness; ingenuous: an artless child.”

Now, put it all together and you get “God protects those with hearts that are free from deceit, not cunning, like an innocent child.”

Thank You for Your protection, Lord. Protect my family and my brothers and their families. Keep my heart simple, free from deceit.

grace & peace,
e

  1. #1 by gualetar on March 22, 2010 - 5:09 am

    The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

Leave a Reply

