Everything rubbish compared to knowing Christ Jesus – Phil 3

Junk Pile Everything Rubbish Compared to Knowing Christ Jesus - Phil 3I love the way this chapter starts:

1 Whatever happens, dear brothers and sisters, may the Lord give you joy…

Powerful stuff…

…where Paul expresses his confidence in himself as a Jew among Jews, and then says:

7 But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ. 8 What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ 9 and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ–the righteousness that comes from God and is by faith.

That says alot.

Then, I thought to myself, what about those who are not confident in themselves or their religious background. It’s easy for Paul to go on about his. But, then I thought – this is for everyone. If Paul, who had great reason to be confident and proud of his religious heritage and the things he’s done for the Jewish religion, can count it all worthless, how much more those with little confidence or religious pedigree can rejoice in what Christ has done. I think that’s the point Paul is making.

So, if you’ve just become a Christian and are weak and have lots of questions, or if you’ve done much for the Kingdom of God, no matter – what Jesus Christ did is the only thing that makes us right with God and is the only thing that will save us.

So, draw strength from that. Rest – quit working so hard to impress God. Quit working so hard to impress others. Juse is saying. He will tell you what it is you should be doing. Ask – He will tell you. (this message is for me today)

grace & peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

