…created by Him and for Him – Colossians 1

Creation - ...created by Him and for Him - Colossians 1Today, I started reading in the book of Colossians, Paul & Timothy’s letter to the church at Colosse. As usual, I enjoy reading Paul’s greeting. He shows their heart for the church and for the people that are in the body of Christ.

What jumped out at me today is the description they give of God, starting at verse 15:

15 He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation. 16 For by him all things were created: things in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him. 17 He is before all things, and in him all things hold together. 18 And he is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning and the firstborn from among the dead, so that in everything he might have the supremacy.

I was particularly drawn to verse 16. “By Him all things were created…created by Him and for Him.”

I was reminded again today that it’s not about me. It’s about HIM! He created ALL things, including me, for HIS pleasure. His pleasure is to have a relationship with me. He won’t force me, He won’t manipulate me, but He wants me to love Him with all my heart, soul, mind and strength.

You are amazing, God!

grace & peace,
e

  1. #1 by cschellenberg on May 5, 2008 - 6:19 pm

    I love Colossians… thanks for the reminder! I may just have to read some for myself this evening… !!

    -cs
    http://chrisschellenberg.com/

Leave a Reply

