Rest! Rest? Rest. – Psalms 131

As I was reading David’s Psalm today (Psalm 131) I was reminded of several things. Here’s the Psalm in its entirety:

1 My heart is not proud, O Lord, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me. 2 But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me. 3 O Israel, put your hope in the Lord both now and forevermore.

As I read “I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me,” I thought about David and how he was thrust into the limelight. He was a simple shepherd – the youngest of a family with 8 sons. From my study of those verses, he was the least likely to become anything more than a shepherd – especially the king of a nation! Yet, that was his lot in life. He was chosen – he did not choose that life.

David was able to be still – a trait I myself (and the majority of people I know these days) seem to have a great deal of difficulty with. I found the analogy of a “weaned child with it’s mother” very interesting. If you think about it, there’s not much a child who has just been weaned (somewhere between 6 months and a year old?) can control. All they are concerned with is their current needs – eating, sleeping, being loved.

I am encouraged today to focus on resting. Again. When will I learn? He is in control – not me. I can rest in that.

grace & peace,
e

,

  1. #1 by Jamie Norris on June 13, 2008 - 11:07 am

    As a servant in a church plant, there is much to do, much to do. My pastor frequently promotes slowing down and resting in God’s presence. But the busyness often pushes aside the reason for rest. The mind thinks, “I’m part of the branch and this branch is growing, now get to work.” Your biblical perspectives “Rest! Rest? Rest.” and “Resting Place of God” are just what I needed today.

    Beautiful site, I shall return again. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

