“No One Is Concerned For Me” – Psalms 142

You know the story – David is being hotly pursued, his life at stake, by King Saul. According to Matthew Henry, David pens this Psalm inside a cave he’s been chased into. He cries out in desperation to God to rescue him from his pursuers.

4 Look to my right and see; no one is concerned for me. I have no refuge; no one cares for my life. 5 I cry to you, O Lord; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.” 6 Listen to my cry, for I am in desperate need; rescue me from those who pursue me, for they are too strong for me. 7 Set me free from my prison, that I may praise your name. Then the righteous will gather about me because of your goodness to me.

The part that jumped out at me was this: “no one is concerned for me.”

I lived the majority of my life not understanding the importance of friendships. I had been brought up to take care of myself and to be independent. My loving parents encouraged me to figure things out on my own. Being the “baby” of 5 siblings teaches you how to survive in a competitive environment!

So, when my life blew apart after a divorce, my friends all disappeared. For the first time in my life, I couldn’t figure out how to fix things and I was ready to give up. God heard my cry and sent people I didn’t know into my life to lift me out of my despair and pull me through until I could stand on my own again.

Since then, I’ve realized the importance of friendship with godly men. I looked up some of my friends from High School and we now get together every year from all over the nation for a long weekend. Through email we keep in touch all year.

My friends in my men’s group, the Wildmen, also understand the importance of friendship between men and I have dozens of men I can call upon in my time of need.

Now that I’m back on my feet, I try to make myself available to others for prayer, conversation, encouragement or other kinds of help. There are plenty of hurting people out there – people like David running from their pursuers, running from themselves, hiding from pain or rejection, struggling with addictions or griefs, who really need to look to their right…and find someone who cares.

Look to your left…who needs to see you today?

grace & peace,
e

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

