Sing a new song to God – Psalms 144

child singing - sing a new song to God - Psalms 144I found Psalms 144 interesting. David praises God for training him for war. He acknowledges that God has rescued him and is his refuge in times of trouble. He recognizes that with God, his family and his nation will be blessed. And, right in the middle of all this we find:

9 I will sing a new song to you, O God; on the ten-stringed lyre I will make music to you, 10 to the One who gives victory to kings, who delivers his servant David from the deadly sword.

We know David was a skilled musician. We have record of him soothing King Saul with his harp-playing skills. He was a song writer and worship leader.

In this Psalm, I see how David considers singing a song to God a gift-giving experience. I read this chapter as if he is saying, “You have done great things for us, so I will sing you a new song.

Have you ever wondered what you can give to God? I mean – He made everything that we can see – what can we possibly give back to Him? Sure, we give our tithes and offerings to Him. We know when we give to “the least of these” we are giving to Him. But what can we give directly to God?

Since I’ve had children, I’ve looked at my relationship with God in a whole new way. When my daughter was two years old, for example, she didn’t have a career or even an allowance. She had no money except for the few coins she had managed to collect from her treasure hunts or from begging her parents. Yet when it came time for Father’s Day or birthday celebrations, she always had managed to bless me with a hand-made card or drawing. I could tell she put her heart into her gift and wanted it to be special…and it always was. I kept them all. No, I probably couldn’t sell these treasures on ebay or in an art gallery. But, since they came from my daughter, they were so special to me – priceless.

I think David has given us a clue as to what we can give directly to God that will bless Him: a new song. If you’re not musical, you may be thinking that’s impossible. But try this…just make sure no one can see you – perhaps while you’re driving or when no one’s home. Just start praying to God in song. Tell Him your cares or your praises to a made-up melody. It doesn’t have to rhyme or sound like a top-40 hit. Just pour out your heart to Him and see what happens. Or – open the Bible to a Psalm and read His word aloud to a melody – in other words, sing His word back to Him. I’ve found these to be among the sweetest times of praise I’ve ever experienced.

Like a father receiving a gift from his young child, our Daddy wants to hear from His children – from their heart.

grace & peace,
e

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

