Every Day, One Generation To Another – Psalms 145

As we finish up the final five Psalms, I notice that each of the remaining Psalms are praise Psalms. Today, in Psalm 145, David lifts up praise to God for his greatness and his works.

1 I will exalt you, my God the King; I will praise your name for ever and ever. 2 Every day I will praise you and extol your name for ever and ever. 3 Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom. 4 One generation will commend your works to another; they will tell of your mighty acts.

Two things hit me as I read today:

The words “every day” in verse 2 reminded me that I need to be consistent in my praise. I need to be consistent in my faith and in my reading of His word. I’ve learned that God IS merciful and full of grace. But when we can praise Him and honor Him in the good times and the bad, when we’re busy and when we have time for Him, that’s when the blessings really flow. A consistent faith reduces the emotional highs and lows that are so difficult to navigate. If we can keep our eyes on the Lord through it all, things just go better. I’m reminded of the verse in Matthew chapter 6:

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Mt. 6:33)

The other thing I noticed in this chapter is in verse 4 where “one generation will commend Your works to another.” This was a reminder to me how important it is for our generation to make sure our children and their children hear the stories of the Bible. We have an important responsibility to instill in our kids a love for the Bible and the treasures within. How can we incorporate teaching our children into what we do in our men’s groups, in our worship services, in our homes?

Lord – I love Your word. Help me to seek You every day. Help me to know how to encourage others to seek You every day. Your works are great and worthy to be praised for all generations!

grace & peace
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

