Caught in the act – Hosea 4

A heavy chapter to be sure.

The most dire to me was the warning to priests:

6 My people are being destroyed because they don’t know me. It is all your fault, you priests, for you yourselves refuse to know me. Now I refuse to recognize you as my priests. Since you have forgotten the laws of your God, I will forget to bless your children. 7 The more priests there are, the more they sin against me. They have exchanged the glory of God for the disgrace of idols. 8 “The priests get fed when the people sin and bring their sin offerings to them. So the priests are glad when the people sin! 9 ‘Like priests, like people’ – since the priests are wicked, the people are wicked, too. So now I will punish both priests and people for all their wicked deeds.

In particular verse 8 caught my attention. Since the priests benefit the more people sin, the very ones who are there to discourage people from sinning and encourage them to live holy have become selfish and rejoice when people sin.

Then, the people follow the example of their priests. So, God punishes both the priests and the people.

It got me thinking about my role in my family. I am to be the prophet, priest & king, am I not? My family is watching my example, particularly my children. I understood that fully when I started to discipline one of my children about something and she brought up the fact that she’s seen me speeding. Good tactic, I’m sure. But the point is a good one.

A better example was when my youngest “caught” me reading my Bible for the first time. She was going to try and sneak up on me, but she found me reading God’s word. It really had an impact on her. She asked for a Bible and wanted to read it for herself.

I want to be “caught” doing the right things with my family: reading God’s Word, praying for my family, helping people in need, etc.

Thank You, God, for Your mercy. Help me to be the prophet, priest and king in my family. Help us to encourage each other on to good deeds. All because of You, Lord.

grace & peace,
e

, , ,

  1. #1 by timglass on July 18, 2008 - 9:33 am

    Great post!

    Thanks for the reminder, and the encouragement!

    Grace and peace to you and your family as well!

    Tim

Leave a Reply

