The Discipline of God – Hosea 5

Chapter 5, and the previous chapter, of the book of Hosea describe the sins of the priests of the nation of Israel. These priests, who were set apart to discourage their people from sin, had found profit in encouraging their people to sin.

You can hear the anguish in God’s voice as he speaks through his prophet. Take a look at the last few verses of Hosea chapter 5:

14 For I will be like a lion to Ephraim, like a great lion to Judah. I will tear them to pieces and go away; I will carry them off, with no one to rescue them. 15 Then I will go back to my place until they admit their guilt. And they will seek my face; in their misery they will earnestly seek me.”

God, even in his anger and judgment, speaks of restoration. He will be like a great lion, tearing these people apart, carrying them off – but only until they admit their guilt and seek His face.

Sometimes we have to be at the difficult place where our only choice is to look up from our misery and see that God is there waiting on us to admit our guilt and our need for Him. He loves us too much to leave us to our own demise. He discipline’s His children – so they will understand and turn from their sin.

I’m grateful that God does not give up on me. As difficult as it has been, His discipline in my life has brought life and peace. It was not pleasant at the time, but I can see how His rebuke, and even his harsh discipline (pruning), has brought me to the place I am today. I still have much to learn, but my faith has been increased. He is a loving, caring Father.

grace & peace
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

