Prayer and drawing lots – Acts 1

Well – I’m jumping back into dBrag (daily Bible reading accountability group) with a good friend of mine. I REALLY need strong accountability or it becomes too easy for me to skip my daily Bible reading. Why is it so easy for me to justify skipping this MOST important activity in my day?

I read the chapter a few times in a few translations.

A few things caught my attention:

1) The controversy of how Judas killed himself. There are TONS of pages on the Internet with people much smarter than me trying to explain this apparent scriptural contradiction (see Matt 27:1-5 where it says Judas hung himself). This is probably a moot point, but I wonder why the choice of these particular phrases. Many explain it away by saying Judas hung himself in that field and became swollen after time and burst open. Okay, I guess…trying not to get hung up on this one.

2) Jesus was on earth 40 days after his resurrection. Another 40 day period (40 days in the wilderness, rained for 40 days and 40 nights, Moses was with God for 40 days/nights,     the spies searched the promised land for 40 days). I did a little research on the significance of 40 days but came up with nothing earth shattering. I never realized Jesus was on earth for 40 days after his resurrection. I read over it before, I guess.

3) The most significant thing I read was this:

21. Therefore it is necessary to choose one of the men who have been with us the whole time the Lord Jesus went in and out among us, 22. beginning from John’s baptism to the time when Jesus was taken up from us. For one of these must become a witness with us of his resurrection.” 23. So they proposed two men: Joseph called Barsabbas (also known as Justus) and Matthias. 24. Then they prayed, “Lord, you know everyone’s heart. Show us which of these two you have chosen 25. to take over this apostolic ministry, which Judas left to go where he belongs.”26. Then they cast lots, and the lot fell to Matthias; so he was added to the eleven apostles.

What became of Barsabbas?

I found it fascinating about the casting of lots to choose who would replace Judas. They prayed first, then cast lots. If you ask me, if we tried this method today, we’d be laughed out of the church. Seems more likely we’d pray, wait, have meetings, discuss, wait some more, then wait for one of them to screw up and NOT choose them. With the method the new testament church did here, it was immediate and shows their faith in God (that He would guide the right name would be drawn out of “the hat”.)

I did appreciate that they prayed first before doing anything. This is something I always need to be aware of. I tend to act then pray.

Thank You, God, for Your Word – and for giving me great Christian brothers to help me and for me to help. Build up our faith in You, Lord, as a result of this new dBrag.

peace,

e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

