Six Things the Lord Hates – Proverbs 6

I love watching “man on the street” type of videos. They can be very eye-opening. I wonder how people would respond to the question, “What does God hate?”

I think we’d hear things like murder, adultery, blasphemy, rape, etc. Today in Proverbs 6, we are given the list of six things God hates:

16 There are six things the LORD hates, seven that are detestable to him:
17 haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood,
18 a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil,
19 a false witness who pours out lies and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.

Some made the list (murderer or hands that shed innocent blood) but some may surprise you: haughty (which I had to look up – it means “having or showing excessive pride or arrogance”) eyes, liars, wicked heart, lack of self-control, liar (again).

To be honest, I was disappointed that religion didn’t make the list. I suppose it’s a good thing I’m not God!

From the writer’s comment “seven that are detestable to Him”, I get the impression that there is a special emphasis on the last one in the list, which is “a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.” I think we are to be especially vigilant for this type of person. They can do a severe amount of damage in a short time.

Contrast these to the things God loves (found in Galatians chapter 5): love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness and temperance.

God, I wish to do those things you love. Yet, like Paul writes about in Romans chapter 7, I usually find myself doing the things I hate, and not doing the things I want to be doing. I love Your mercy, God, and declare that I need You more than ever. Help me today to be found doing those things that please You.

grace & peace,
e

,

  1. #1 by josphat cheruiyot kipyegon on March 12, 2009 - 8:02 am

    thanks for the comment you made of the things the Lord hates and giving also the things God loves. please could you tell the difference between 2 samwel 24:1 and 1 chronicles 21:1, who incited david? God or satan?
    thanks in advance.

  2. #2 by Nancy J Locke on July 22, 2009 - 6:58 am

    Am glad I found your interesting blog. You tackle great subjects. Beautiful posts.

    Blessings! Nancy J Locke

  3. #3 by Nancy J Locke on August 1, 2009 - 10:30 am

    What an inspirational and great post!!!
    Have a super day.

    Blessings! Nancy J Locke

  4. #4 by Shanta on May 1, 2010 - 11:07 am

    Grateful I found this website will be helpful in my christian walk.

    Thanks God Bless
    Shanta.

  5. #5 by Mercy ihoeghian on August 9, 2012 - 3:05 pm

    Lord plz 4give mi am a big sinner av watchd difft kinds of spoilt tins u said we shld confess our sins b4 men lord av done my 2 d whole world lord plz av mercy on me

Leave a Reply

