2 Samuel 2 – Prayer For Every Decision

So, King Saul is dead. David can finally be annointed King as the prophet Samuel had anointed him so many years back.

But first, David sought God on where he and his family should settle:

In the course of time, David inquired of the LORD. “Shall I go up to one of the towns of Judah?” he asked.
The LORD said, “Go up.”
David asked, “Where shall I go?”
“To Hebron,” the LORD answered. (verse 1)

Throughout the books of first and second Samuel, this is one of the common things you will see. David stops frequently and asks God for guidance. “Should I go here, Lord?”, “What should I wear?”, “Which side of the bed should I get up on today?” Okay, I may have thrown in that last one myself, but from my reading I get the impression that David consulted God on every decision large and small.

Perhaps this is why God calls David, and no other in the Bible, “a man after God’s own heart.”

I have to ask myself these questions:

  1. Do I believe God hears my prayers? My answer is an empahtic “Yes!”
  2. Do I believe God answers my prayers? Again, “Yes!” is my answer, but not always in the ways I expect.
  3. Do I believe God cares about my well-being? Definitely “Yes!”. He has demonstrated this time and again. He’s not necessarily interested in what I wear, for example, but definitely interested in my decisions and the consequences involved.
  4. So why is it that I don’t take everything to Him in prayer – as David did?

That’s the question I must ponder today. What about you? Do you take everything to God in prayer? Or, like me, do you usually end up doing things on your own, only consulting God if things get out of hand?

Forgive me, Lord. I trust You. I will try to be more like your servant, David.

peace,

e

  1. #1 by Nancy J Locke on August 27, 2009 - 3:25 pm

    After years of hard knocks I realized the only way to start the day is to say, “Lord, what will you have me do today?”

    Once I surrendered, life started moving so fast I can’t keep up with it. 😀 But yes, I can. God will see to that.

    Blessings! Nancy J Locke

Leave a Reply

