2 Samuel 12 – Guilty

Guilty.

David has sinned before God. This caused the commission of other sins to cover up. Now David, a man after God’s own heart, is wracked with guilt. We can see in Psalm 32:3-4 some of what he is going through:

When I kept silent about my sin, my body wasted away Through my groaning all day long. For day and night Your hand was heavy upon me; My vitality was drained away as with the fever heat of summer.

If that weren’t enough, God sends Nathan with a message:

I anointed you king over Israel, and I delivered you from the hand of Saul.  I gave your master’s house to you, and your master’s wives into your arms. I gave you the house of Israel and Judah. And if all this had been too little, I would have given you even more.  Why did you despise the word of the LORD by doing what is evil in his eyes? You struck down Uriah the Hittite with the sword and took his wife to be your own. You killed him with the sword of the Ammonites. Now, therefore, the sword will never depart from your house, because you despised me and took the wife of Uriah the Hittite to be your own.’

“This is what the LORD says: ‘Out of your own household I am going to bring calamity upon you. Before your very eyes I will take your wives and give them to one who is close to you, and he will lie with your wives in broad daylight. You did it in secret, but I will do this thing in broad daylight before all Israel.’ “

The consequences of David’s choices are mounting. Not only did a woman get pregnant, her husband die, his army given reason to doubt his integrity, but now we see in this chapter the innocent son, born from David’s sin is going to die. All the guilt is more than David can bear.

David is quick to repent. And, God is faithful to forgive. Yet, the consequences remain. David’s actions will affect not only him, but his family for generations to come.

David was not looking for this to happen. He was looking for a moment of pleasure. He didn’t need another wife. He didn’t need more children. I’m sure if he would have thought it through a bit more, he would have made different choices.

The lesson to learn here is to keep our eyes on God. If we’re serving Him and keeping our eyes on Him, then we won’t see Bathsheba bathing in the moonlight. We’ll probably be off to war with the other kings. We can’t let our guard down – not even for a moment. Sin will destroy all we’ve been working to hard to accomplish. A moment of weakness can ruin the plans God has for us. He will turn what the enemy planned for evil into something good – but we’ll miss the original blessings God has for us.

Keeping my eyes on Him today…
e

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

