2 Samuel 22 – Remember that song…?

Verse 1 of this chapter says:

1 David sang to the LORD the words of this song when the LORD delivered him from the hand of all his enemies and from the hand of Saul.

This is a bit confusing to me. Are we going back in time to when David actually sang this song? I take this to mean that David, after many chapters of doing “his own thing”,  remembers a song that he wrote way back when King Saul was pursuing him, trying to kill him. While I’m delighted to see David remember God and remember a song he used to sing, the impact is not the same. It’s not like he’s singing to the Lord a new song. He can only remember the words of a song from days gone by. But, at least he’s singing to the Lord (that’s a good step in the right direction).

These verses stood out to me as I read the song (how I wish I could have sheet music to go with these words):

25 The LORD has rewarded me according to my righteousness, according to my cleanness in his sight.

26 “To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless,

27 to the pure you show yourself pure, but to the crooked you show yourself shrewd.

28 You save the humble, but your eyes are on the haughty to bring them low.

Rewards – according to cleanness. Faithfulness to the faithful. Blamelessness to the blameless. Pureness to the pure. Salvation to the humble. God calls us to be obedient, righteous, clean and pure. Without these, life is always more difficult. Wrong choices in weak moments remove rewards, faithfulness from God.

David’s story still reminds me that once I take my eyes off God, it gets ever-increasingly difficult to get back to the “good ol’ days”. Much better to remain righteous and clean and pure, never taking our eyes off God. Even if we sin, which God knows we will, we MUST turn back immediately, like David did in his younger years. Better still, we should never stop praying about EVERYTHING so we don’t end up in a situation like David did.

e

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

