It’s not about me! (again) – 2 Corinthians 5

I have been thinking a lot lately about how I ended up where I’m at. I am so happy to be doing what I know God has wired me up to do. I still have struggles, but they’re much different than before. I think it all has to do with the fact that I’ve finally realized that trying to live by my own plan, my own desires and my own initiative – gets me nowhere.

I struggled with relationships. As a result, I’m 0 for 2 when it comes to marriages.

I struggled with careers. As a result, several times I’ve gone from entry level to executive, only to get laid off and right back in the same situation.

Financially, I’ve had jobs earning 6 figures and I’ve had jobs that paid just minimum wage. Yet, I’ve never lived extravagantly or in need.

So, when I read the following verses in 2 Corinthians today, it confirmed some things I’ve been thinking about:

11 Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade others. What we are is plain to God, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience. 12 We are not trying to commend ourselves to you again, but are giving you an opportunity to take pride in us, so that you can answer those who take pride in what is seen rather than in what is in the heart. 13 If we are “out of our mind,” as some say, it is for God; if we are in our right mind, it is for you. 14 For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all, and therefore all died. 15 And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.

I realize it’s not about me. When I live that way, I go no where, I struggle with no reward, I suffer and end up right back at the same spot where I realize it’s not about me.

I may seem out of my right mind, but I want to live for him who died and was raised again, not for myself. How arrogant of me to think I have a better plan for my life than my creator!

Lord, forgive my selfish motives. I want to live for you and you alone. I trust the plan you have for my life.

peace,
e

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by terry1954 on April 13, 2012 - 10:28 am

    yes,, it is true, there are blockages put in our way so we can not see, but can turn and follow the path god has chosen. i have been through what you have gone through. i m not rich, nor have many friends, or belong to clubs, but i m content, and this is important. god takes care of me and my brother, and we are safe in his arms

Leave a Reply

