Torn Between Two Desires – Philippians 1

Man Praying - Torn Between Two Desires - Philippians 1The more time I spend on this planet as a displaced resident waiting to go home, the more I long for His return. Don’t get me wrong – I love my kids and my friends. There are so many things to love about life. Yet, I think I’ve gotten to the place where I can pretty much say I’ve checked off all the things I want to do before I die, with the exception of seeing my daughters get married and, of course, grandchildren.

Whoa – wasn’t ready to go there…

Okay, I’m back now. Where was I? Oh, yes, Philippians…

Anyway, reading today in the first chapter of Philippians really caused me to think. I love what Paul says in verses 21 – 24:

21 For to me, living is for Christ, and dying is even better. 22 Yet if I live, that means fruitful service for Christ. I really don’t know which is better. 23 I’m torn between two desires: Sometimes I want to live, and sometimes I long to go and be with Christ. That would be far better for me, 24 but it is better for you that I live.

Reading this in the NLT gave more meaning to me somehow. Maybe it’s what I’ve been through, but I could really resonate to this passage today. I’m weary, but I want to continue serving Him as long as He sees fit to use me.

And, check this out:

29 For you have been given not only the privilege of trusting in Christ but also the privilege of suffering for him. 30 We are in this fight together. You have seen me suffer for him in the past, and you know that I am still in the midst of this great struggle.

It’s a privilege to trust Christ, but it’s also a privilege to suffer for Him.

Once again,I’m amazed at how this text, written so long ago, relates to much to my life today. I can’t wait to meet Paul and talk with him on my back porch. I’ve got so many questions to ask…

Thank you, Lord, for this specific encouragement today. Deliver me, Lord. Hear my cry. Send help, God. Use me here, Lord, to bring glory to Your Kingdom through all of my brothers today. Your love is amazing. Come soon…

grace & peace,
e

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment